Organizing Committee

This workshop, a formal collaboration between ICERM and the American Institute of Mathematics (AIM), is one in a series of annual REUF workshops. These workshops bring together leading research mathematicians and faculty based at primarily undergraduate institutions to investigate open questions in the mathematical sciences and to equip participants with tools to engage in research with undergraduate students. REUF also serves to jump-start faculty who want to re-engage in research or who are considering a change in their research area.

The goals of this workshop are to promote undergraduate research and to forge research collaborations among the participating faculty. The majority of the workshop will be spent working on problems in small research groups, reporting on progress, and formulating plans for future work. Note that there are opportunities for participants to continue research activities beyond the workshop week, which will be discussed during the workshop.

Preference will be given to faculty who teach or mentor substantial numbers of minority students underrepresented in mathematics, students with disabilities, or first-generation students.

Workshop Leaders:

  • Helen Grundman (American Mathematical Society)
  • Brant Jones (James Madison University)
  • Victor Moll (Tulane University)
  • Francis Su (Harvey Mudd College)
Review of applications will begin March 11, 2019, and applicant notifications will be sent mid-April.

Confirmed Speakers & Participants

  • Speaker
  • Poster Presenter
  • Attendee
  • Ryan Alvarado
    Amherst College
  • Rene Ardila
    Grand Valley State University
  • Maila Brucal Hallare
    Norfolk State University
  • Christine Caples
    Southern New Hampshire University
  • Brianna Donaldson
    American Institute of Mathematics
  • Benjamin Gaines
    Iona College
  • Helen Grundman
    Bryn Mawr College
  • Laura Hall-Seelig
    Merrimack College
  • Leslie Hogben
    American Institute of Mathematics
  • Brant Jones
    James Madison University
  • Jill Jordan
    Houghton College
  • Mary Karker
    Providence College
  • Katelynn Kochalski
    SUNY Geneseo
  • Karen Kohl
    University of Southern Mississippi
  • Olena Kozhushkina
    Ursinus College
  • Sarah Loeb
    Hampden-Sydney College
  • Jane Long
    Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Malgorzata Marciniak
    LaGuardia Community College
  • Victor Moll
    Tulane University
  • Jean-Claude Pedjeu
    Tennessee State University
  • Francis Su
    Harvey Mudd College
  • Bianca Thompson
    Westminster College
  • Justin Trulen
    Kentucky Wesleyan College
  • Thomas Wakefield
    Youngstown State University
  • Julia Walk
    Concordia College
  • Shanise Walker
    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
  • Ulrica Wilson
    ICERM/Morehouse College