Computational and Analytical Aspects of Image Reconstruction
(July 13-17, 2015)


The mathematical study of image reconstruction problems can have a huge impact on human life. More efficient mathematical algorithms for X-ray tomography and more accurate mathematical models in seismic or hybrid imaging can lead to better imaging devices in fields such as medicine and remote sensing. Developing the underlying mathematics, including the analysis of reconstruction stability, regularization, singularity characterization, and efficient algorithms, may lead to fewer false positives in fields such as medical, seismic and radar imaging.

This topical workshop will bring together international experts working in computational and analytical aspects of image reconstruction (including but not limited to electron-microscope tomography, hybrid imaging, radar and sonar, full waveform inversion of seismic imaging and X-ray CT) as well as postdoctoral fellows and graduate students. There will be multiple introductory-level talks for early-career researchers and non-specialists in the area on both the mathematics involved and the scientific and industrial applications. Speakers and participants from industry will be included to strengthen the practical aspects of the workshop.

Application review will begin on March 9, 2015.

Organizing Committee

Output of iterations of a Mumford-Shah level set-based method for simultaneous reconstruction and segmentation of a torso phantom from noisy CT data. Images courtesy of Esther Klann relating to work in E. Klann, R. Ramlau, and W. Ring, Inverse Problems and Imaging, Vol. 5 (2011), 137-166.

  • Roza Aceska
    (Ball State University)
  • Gaik Ambartsoumian
    (University of Texas)
  • Jim Byrnes
    (Prometheus Inc.)
  • Rajeev Kumar Chauhan
  • Margaret Cheney *
    (Colorado State University)
  • Yiqiu Dong
    (Technical University of Denmark)
  • Vladimir Druskin
  • Raluca Felea *
    (Rochester Institute of Technology)
  • Jeffrey Fessler*
    (University of Michigan)
  • Jürgen Frikel
    (Technical University of Denmark)
  • Veronika Furst
    (Fort Lewis College)
  • Rim Gouia-Zarrad
    (American University of Sharjah)
  • Eric Grinberg
    (University of Massachusetts)
  • Bernadette Hahn*
    (Universität des Saarlandes)
  • Yulia Hristova
    (University of Michigan)
  • Mark Hubenthal
    (University of Houston)
  • Ming Jiang*
    (Beijing (Peking) University)
  • Mirza Karamehmedovic
    (Technical University of Denmark)
  • Alexander Katsevich*
    (University of Central Florida)
  • Esther Klann
    (Technische Universität Berlin )
  • Venkateswaran Krishnan
    (Centre for Applicable Mathematics)
  • Leonid Kunyansky*
    (University of Arizona)
  • Oleg Kuybeda *
    (National Institutes of Health (NIH))
  • Alfred Louis
    (Universität des Saarlandes)
  • Alexander Mamonov
  • Leopold Matamba Messi
    (Ohio State University)
  • Hassan Mohy-ud-Din
    (Yale University)
  • Shari Moskow *
    (Drexel University)
  • Jennifer Mueller*
    (Colorado State University)
  • Frank Natterer*
    (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster)
  • Linh Nguyen *
    (University of Idaho)
  • Cliff Nolan*
    (University of Limerick)
  • Ozan Oktem*
    (Royal Institute of Technology (KTH))
  • Sarah Patch*
    (University of Wisconsin)
  • Olga Podgornova
  • Lingyun Qiu
    (University of Minnesota)
  • Todd Quinto
    (Tufts University)
  • . Rakesh*
    (University of Delaware)
  • Ronny Ramlau*
    (Johannes Kepler Universität Linz)
  • Rasmus Rasmussen
    (Technical University of Denmark)
  • Joel Rosiene
    (Eastern Connecticut State University)
  • Kamran Sadiq
    (Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics )
  • Otmar Scherzer *
    (Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics )
  • Remco Schoenmakers*
    (FEI Netherlands )
  • Thomas Schuster*
    (Universität des Saarlandes)
  • Plamen Stefanov
    (Purdue University)
  • Bastian von Harrach *
    (Universität Stuttgart)
  • Ming Yan
    (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Mikhail Zaslavsky*
    (Schlumberger Cambridge Research)
  • Jian-Zhou Zhang
    (Sichuan University)
  • Ting Zhou *
    (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)