Discrepancy Theory (October 27-31, 2014)

Review of applications will begin on July 15, 2014
Organizing Committee
  • Michael Lacey
    (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • William Chen
    (Macquarie University)
  • Dmitriy Bilyk
    (University of Minnesota)
  • Aicke Hinrichs
    (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität )
  • Mikhail Lifshits
    (St Petersburg State University)
  • Friedrich Pillichshammer
    (Johannes Kepler Universitat Linz)
          [Image Credit: Dmitriy Bilyk]

Discrepancy theory deals with the problem of distributing points uniformly over some geometric object and evaluating the inevitably arising errors. The theory was ignited by such famous early results as Herman Weyl's equidistribution theorem and Klaus Roth's theorem on the irregularities of point distributions.

The subject has now grown into a broad field with deep connections tomany areas such as number theory, combinatorics, approximation theory, harmonic analysis, and probability theory, in particular empirical and Gaussian processes. The computational aspects of the subject include searching for well-distributed sets and numerical integration rules. Despite years of research, many fundamental questions, especially in high dimensions, remain wide open, although several important advances have been achieved recently.

The participants of this workshop will share a wide range of views on topics related to discrepancy with an eye towards the recent developments in the subject. The workshop will bring together different communities working on various aspects of discrepancy theory. The exchange of ideas and approaches, the cross-fertilization of viewpoints, sharing the visions of near and far term goals of the field will be the highlight of the conference.

  • Ali Ahmed
    (Georgia Institute of Technology)
  • Christoph Aistleitner*
    (Technische Universität Graz)
  • Ulas Ayaz
    (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)
  • Nikhil Bansal *
    (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven)
  • József Beck*
    (Rutgers University)
  • Oleksandra Beznosova*
    (Baylor University)
  • Dmitriy Bilyk
    (University of Minnesota)
  • Emmanuel Candes
    (Stanford University)
  • William Chen
    (Macquarie University)
  • Jacqueline Davis
    (Vanderbilt University)
  • Josef Dick*
    (University of New South Wales)
  • Benjamin Doerr*
    (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik)
  • Carola Doerr*
    (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik)
  • Dinh Dung
    (Vietnam National University)
  • Henri Faure*
    (Aix-Marseille University)
  • Simon Foucart
    (University of Georgia)
  • Pawel Siedlecki
    (University of Warsaw)
  • Maxim Skriganov*
    (Russian Academy of Sciences)
  • Craig Spencer*
    (Kansas State University)
  • Gowri Suryanarayana
    (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
  • Krystal Taylor *
    (University of Minnesota)
  • Vladimir Temlyakov
    (University of South Carolina)
  • Robert Tichy*
    (Technische Universität Graz)
  • Giancarlo Travaglini*
    (Università di Milano - Bicocca)
  • Li Wang
    (University of California, San Diego)
  • Yingwei Wang
    (Purdue University)
  • Rachel Ward
    (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Grzegorz Wasilkowski
    (University of Kentucky)
  • Houying Zhu
    (University of New South Wales)