Trustee and Advisory Boards

The Board of Trustees oversees all institute activities. This includes being responsible for reviewing the budget for the coming year, developing policies and procedures, advising on the appointment of new directors and actively recruiting for the position as needed, and taking a leadership role in fundraising and public awareness. The Board of Trustees has a face-to-face meeting at ICERM for one day each year (usually in late spring), and one or two conference-call meetings if needed.

Board of Trustee member appointments are for four years. Chairs from the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) and the Education Advisory Board (EAB), as well as the ICERM Directors, act as ex officio members.

Board of Trustees

Douglas ArnoldUniversity of Minnesota
Sir John BallUniversity of Oxford
Jennifer Chayes Microsoft Research
Bruce HendricksonLawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Peter Jones (Chair)Yale University
David Keyes Columbia University/KAUST
Yann LeCunNYU and Director of Research, Facebook
Yvon Maday Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Jill PipherBrown University

ICERM Board of Trustees 2016, back row, l-r: Yann LaCun, Jeff Brock, John Ball, Peter Jones,
Brendan Hassett, Sinai Robins, Yvon Maday. Front row, l-r: Ulrica Wilson, Douglas Arnold,
Barbara Keyfitz, Jill Pipher, Jennifer Chayes, David Keyes, Homer Walker.

The Scientific Advisory Board will be responsible for approving the programs and scientific activities of the Institute. In addition, through direct communication with the Director, Science Board members will be involved in shaping the direction of the scientific enterprise through specific suggestions of thematic programs and of program organizers. Terms will be three years, staggered for the initial appointments. Three of the seats on this Board are reserved for senior representatives of Google, IBM, and Microsoft.

Scientific Advisory Board terms are for three years. The ICERM Directors act as ex officio members of this committee.

Scientific Advisory Board


Jeffrey BrockBrown University
Henry CohnMicrosoft Research
Qiang DuColumbia University
Vanja DukicUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Charles Epstein (Chair) University of Pennsylvania
Anna Gilbert University of Michigan
Rachel Kuske University of British Columbia
Ricardo NochettoUniversity of Maryland
Guillermo Sapiro Duke University
Anne Schilling University of California/Davis
Richard Schwartz Brown University
Cosma Shalizi Carnegie Mellon University
Carol Woodward Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Front row, l-r: Charlie Epstein, Cindy Phillips. Jill Pipher, Rich Schwartz. Back row, l-r: Jeff Hoffstein, Jeff Brock,
Cohn, Ulrica Wilson, Brendan Hassett, Peter Winkler, Homer Walker, Anne Gilbert, Anne Schilling.

The Education Advisory Board 1) oversees the undergraduate research programs, and helps to develop and identify successful proposals, 2) helps to develop proposals for outreach programs and events that are aligned with the mission of the institute, and 3) helps to identify sources of funding for education and outreach activities.

Education Advisory Board terms are for three years. The ICERM Directors act as ex officio members of this committee.

Education Advisory Board


John Ewing Math for America
Karen Haberstroh Brown University
Katharine A. Ott Bates College
Lynn Rakatansky RI Mathematics Teachers Association Executive Board
Sergei Tabachnikov (Chair) Pennsylvania State University
Ulrica Wilson Morehouse College
l-r: Homer Walker, Carly Klivans, Sergei Tabachnikov, Irina Mitrea, Brendan Hassett, Lynn Rakatansky,
and John Ewing. Not pictured: Katy Ott, Sinai Robins, and Ulrica Wilson.